Your search results


Puy-de-Dome is a departement of Auvergne-Rhône Alpes region in France. It is named after the famous dormant volcano, the Puy-de-Dôme.


Puy-de-Dôme is part of the current region of Auvergne-Rhône Alpes and is surrounded by the departments of Loire, Haute-Loire, Cantal, Corrèze, and Creuse.

The department is in the Massif Central and boasts more than 80 volcanic craters.
It is three hours from Paris and an hour from Lyon by highways A71 and A72. The A75 links it to the Mediterranean Sea.

Main cities are Clermont-Ferrand, Thiers, Riom, Issoire, Ambert and Cournon-d’Auvergne.


Puy-de-Dôme is one of the original 83 departments created during the French Revolution on March 4, 1790. It was created from the former province of Auvergne. Originally, the department was to be called Mont d’Or (“golden mountain”), but this was judged not to be a very egalitarian name.

Useful information:

Tourism office in Puy-de-Dôme:

Maps of Puy-de-Dôme:

Gites in Puy-de-Dôme:

Travel from the UK
By air: 
Ryanair flies from London Stansted to Rodez.

Our team of sale advisers at Sextant Properties will be happy to help you to find a property in Puy-de-Dôme. We have a large network of partners in Auvergne-Rhône Alpes. All of them are registered French real estate agents and speak both French and English. Whatever kind of property you are looking for: farmhouse, longere, barn, gite, B&B, country house, mill, castle or chateau, we will do our best to find a property in Puy-de-Dôme matching your requirements.


  • Property Search

    £ 0 to £ 6,000,000

    More Search Options
  • Reset Password

Compare Listings